Our Staff

Rev. Margaret LaMotte Torrence
Rev. Margaret LaMotte TorrenceTransitional Pastor
Steven Phillips
Steven PhillipsDirector of Music Ministries and Congregational Care
Clare Carter
Clare CarterPreschool Director
Molly Horner
Molly HornerChildren and Youth Coordinator
Rachel Martin
Rachel MartinOperations Manager
Lisa Garcia
Lisa GarciaFinance Manager
Pam Schweizer
Pam SchweizerPastor's Assistant
Cheryl Track
Cheryl TrackFaith Community Nurse
Jim Camastro
Jim CamastroTech Team Leader
John Yost
John YostHandbell Director
Rev. Floyd Churn
Rev. Floyd ChurnParish Associate
Rob Ostermann
Rob OstermannSexton

Contact Our Staff

If you would like to reach any of our staff, please feel free to contact the church office at (941) 955-8119 or by emailing info@firstpressarasota.org.  This email will then be directed to the appropriate staff member.

Other Leadership


The Session is the church governing body made up of elders, church members elected by the congregation for three-year terms to guide and direct the ministry of the church.

Elders chair various committees and ministry teams in which any member may participate. Meetings for all committees and ministry teams are held on the second Tuesday of the month from 5:30 to 7:00 p.m. They include:

 Business Affairs
†  Finance & Stewardship
†  Property

Congregational Nominating

Education & Formation
†  Adult Education
†  Children’s Ministry
†  Spiritual Formation
†  Youth, College & Young Adult Ministry

†  Fellowship
†  Membership Development
† Public Outreach

Mission & Justice
†  Missions
†  Peace & Justice


Worship & Music

Our Elders

Class of 2021
Rebecca Clissold     Education & Formation
Craig Gesell              Business Affairs
David Gulliver          Clerk of Session
Annette Landes       Membership & Fellowship
Lisa Saba                  Church Officer Nominating

Class of 2022
Lorraine Foltz           Education & Formation
Dave Householder  Mission & Justice
Bob Kirkpatrick        Mission & Justice
Denise Landers        Worship & Music
Kay Steinman           Personnel

Class of 2023
Dick Clapp                Church Officer Nominating
Jean Luker                Worship & Music
Sue Hargis Spigel    Membership & Fellowship
Carol Papa                Personnel
Bob Wrobel              Business Affairs


The Board of Deacons is a group of church members elected by the congregation and called to serve as the primary assistants to the staff for pastoral care. Deacons serve for three-year terms; five are elected each year.

Deacons provide home communion, transport members who need a ride to church, deliver flowers, create and deliver “We Care” posters, send cards for special occasions, provide assistance for memorial services, and comfort families and members.

Our Deacons

Class of 2021
Bob Bittner
Connie Brussee
Tom Singleton
Patti Wrobel             Moderator; deacon rep. on Nominating Committee

Class of 2022
Barbara Chase
Becky Fingerle         Recording Secretary
John Fisher
Thom Olshewsky

Class of 2023
Pat Feeney
Mariah Martin
Susan McDonald
Dick Wigton

Come Visit us This Weekend